To celebrate the rich history of athletics excellence at Tufts spanning more than 150 years, Tufts Athletics established a Hall of Fame, which has now inducted two classes.

The Tufts Athletics Hall of Fame honors the men and women who, through athletics participation, coaching, or service, have distinguished themselves in the field of intercollegiate athletics, brought honor and acclaim to Tufts, and contributed to the success and advancement of intercollegiate athletics at the university.

“Our new Hall of Fame provides an exciting opportunity to honor outstanding Jumbo student-athletes, coaches, and staff who have made significant contributions to our proud and rich tradition of athletics excellence here at Tufts,” said John Morris, Director of Athletics. “We look forward to welcoming our alumni and friends back to campus each spring to celebrate our history and induct our Hall of Fame honorees.”

Nominations for the Tufts Athletics Hall of Fame are accepted in four categories: student-athletes, coaches, teams, and athletics department staff. An 11-member selection committee, consisting of alumni, coaches, and staff, chooses the class each year.



2020 Inductees (June 10, 2022 at Gillette Stadium)

Name Sports / Category Class Year Induction Year
Julia Browne* Tennis 2011 2020
Paul Dresens  Football 1989  2020 
James Fitzgerald  Baseball, Basketballl, Football  1930  2020 
D.J. Hessler*  Lacrosse  2011  2020 
Sakhi Khan  Squash  1985  2020 
Bud Niles  Baseball, Basketball  1950  2020 
Helen Jane Sears  Basketball, Field Hockey, Golf, Tennis  1943  2020 
Maren Seidler  Track & Field, Swimming 1973  2020 
1979 Football Team  Team    2020 
2012 Field Hockey Team  Team    2020 

* Were not able to attend ceremony and will be inducted at a future ceremony 

2019 Inductees (April 13, 2019 at Couses Gymnasium)

Name Sports / Category Class Year Induction Year
Harry Arlanson Student-Athlete, Coach, Administrator 1931 2019
Jeanne Ashworth Field Hockey, Softball, Speed Skating 1960 2019
Bob Backus Track & Field 1951 2019
Tamara Brown Field Hockey 2011 2019
Greg Davis Basketball 1986 2019
Kate Donovan Basketball, Diving, Field Hockey, Lacrosse, Squash 1984 2019
Dorie Ellis Baseball, Basketball, Field Hockey 1931 2019
Jim Lilley Swimming 1982 2019
Dan Morse Baseball / Football 1999 2019
Mary Sanborn Field Hockey, Tennis 1936 2019
1976 Dinghy Sailing Team   2019
1985 Women's Lacrosse Team   2019


2018 Inductees (April 21, 2018 at Cousens Gymnasium)

Name Sports / Category Class Year Induction Year
Maureen Bobbin Swimming 1991 2018
Rocky Carzo Administrator & Coach   2018
Eddie Dugger Track 1941 2018
Ding Dussault Coach   2018
Fred Ellis Baseball, Basketball, Football, Track & Field, Coach 1929 2018
Rudy Fobert Baseball, Football, Track & Field 1950 2018
Johnny Grinnell Baseball, Basketball, Football, Track 1935 2018
Pop Houston Administrator 1914 2018
Lisa Raffin Basketball, Lacrosse, Soccer 1985 2018
Vera Stenhouse Track & Field 1991 2018
Tim Whelan Football 1977 2018
1950 Baseball Team   2018
2010 Men's Lacrosse Team   2018


Brown and Blue Award Recipients

2018 - Ben Sands
2019 - John Baronian
2020 - Jeff Cicia