Track & Field Celebrates 40th Anniversary of 1980 New England Championship Team

MEDFORD - Tufts University men's track & field alumni spanning six decades (Class of 1970 through the 2019) came back to honor the 40th anniversary of the 1980 team's victory at the inaugural DIII New England Track and Field Championship, which was held at Colby College on February 23, 1980.

Members of the 1980 championship team who were in attendance on Saturday were Brian Brunelle '81, Bob Curran '81, co-captain Norm Costin '81, Steve Defossez '81, Ed Ellison '83, Andy Freed '82, Stan Goodridge '83, Mark Hardie '82, John LeBlanc '83, Tom MacGillivray '83, Paul Murray '82, John Sipos '83, co-captain Bruce Stirling '80, Paul Tillotson '81, and Leo Weigman '80.

Tufts compiled 81 team points that day at the 1980 New England Championship, out-scoring runner-up Fitchburg State (72) by nine. Stirling in the weight throw, Art McDermott in the shot put and Costin in the 55-meter hurdles won individual titles that day. Tufts finished the season with an 11-0 record overall.

Jumbo Track & Field captains from the 2017 and 2018 New England Championship teams were also in attendance on Saturday: Luke O'Connor '17, Tom Wang '17, Peter Clark '18, Drew DiMaiti '18.

Tufts also welcomed three women who came back to celebrate their teams' undefeated 1980 season on Saturday: Heather Sibbison '83, Marjorie Golden '82, and Diane Wilcox '82. The DIII New England Championship for women had not begun yet in 1980, but the Tufts team posted a 9-0 record that season.