Softball Coaches Win NFCA Regional Staff of the Year Honors

MEDFORD - Leaders of the Tufts University softball program were selected by their peers as the 2022 National Fastpitch Coaches Association (NFCA) Division III Regional Coaching Staff of the Year, the Association announced on Tuesday.

Head coach Lauren Ebstein (picured, right) and assistant coaches Marly Becker, Hannah Leahy and Kristina Haghdan guided Tufts to another successful season this spring. The Jumbo staff led by Ebstein earns this award for the second straight year. Becker was also an assistant on the staff last season.

The 2022 Jumbos finished 36-12 overall, hosted and won an NCAA Tournament Regional to advance to the Super Regionals, and were New England Small College Athletic Conferenec (NESCAC) finalists. Tufts won the NESCAC East for the 18th time with an 11-1 record and hosted the conference tournament at Huskins Field.

Tufts was 20-9 after losing to WPI 4-2 and WIlliams 1-0 on April 18, and their outlook for post-season success seemed to be in question. However, the coaching staff got the team to respond with 10 straight victories to end the regular-season with a 30-9 mark. Despite falling 1-0 to Amherst in the conference championship game, the Jumbos won the NCAA Regional including a pair of victories against Rowan. With Tufts' Commencement festivities on campus May 21-22, the Jumbos played at WPI in the Supers and were eliminated in a three-game series.

Jumbo sophomore pitcher Sophia DiCocco was recognized as the team's first All-American since 2017, earning third team honors. She was also NESCAC Pitcher of the Year, while shortstop Josie Steinberg was voted the league's Defensive Player of the Year. Four Jumbos made All-Conference overall and five were NFCA All-Region. Ten team members were on the NESCAC All-Academic Team for carrying grade point averages of 3.50 or better.

At the conclusion of her fourth year with the Jumbos, Coach Ebstein has an 89-29 record for a .754 winning percentage.

> 2022 NFCA Division III Regional Coaching Staffs of the Year