Clarke, Laliberty Win National Positional Player of the Year Awards

MEDFORD - Tufts University has won two of the four Positional Player of the Year awards for the 2022 season announced today by the Interollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA). Senior Anna Clarke (pictured, left) was named Midfielder of the Year and senior Molly Laliberty (pictured, right) is the Goalkeeper of the Year.

The recognition is the second in a row for Laliberty, who was national Goalkeeper of the Year in 2021. It also continues Tufts' success within the IWLCA's major annual awards, to go along with Dakota Adamec receiving IWLCA Player of the Year and Attacker of the Year honors from the 2019 season.

Clarke was a leader on every part of the field for the Jumbos this spring. She set a Tufts single-season record with 112 draw controls while finishing second on the team in scoring with 42 goals and nine assists for 51 points. One of the team's top free-position scorers (17 goals on 30 attempts), she also accumlated 18 ground balls and 15 caused turnovers. An IWLCA first team All-American, she was also first team All-Region and All-Conference.

Laliberty played over 1,200 minutes in goal this season and posted a .545 save percentage with 198 stops on 363 shots faced. She ranked sixth nationally in save percentage and 10th in total saves, while her 8.12 goals against average was #23 in the country. Her talents were on display on the national stage when she stopped 16 of 23 shots (.696) in the NCAA semifinals against The College of New Jersey, an 18-7 Tufts win. She was the NESCAC Defensive Player of the Year in addition to first-team seletions in the league, regionally and on the All-American teams.

Head coach Courtney Shute's Jumbos advanced to the NCAA Championship Game for the second year in a row. The Jumbos lost to Middlebury, but finished 19-4 overall include a 9-8 NESCAC Championship Game victory over Middlebury and the program's third consecutive trip to the "Final Four".

Jane Earley from Middlebury was National Player of the Year and Attacker of the Year. Mary Pat McKenna of Franklin & Marshall won National Defender of the Year.

> IWLCA Names 2022 Division III Players of the Year